Wednesday, 20 February 2013



           Buddha spoke of the 4 Noble Truths:
  1.  Simply to exist on earth is to suffer
  2. Suffering is tied to desire
  3. Elimination of desire means the end to suffering
  4. The method is the 8-fold path
   These 8 steps are as follows: (1) Harmlessness or self-restraint (Yama); (2) Self-purification and contentment (Niyama); (3) Posture (Sana); (4) Breath and prana control (Pranayama); (5) Introspection or abstraction (Pratyahara); (6) Concentration (Dharana); (7) Contemplation (Dhyana); (8) Superconsciousness or Oneness (Samadhi).

Buddha Quotes


“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.”

“All wrong-doing arises because of mind. If mind is transformed can wrong-doing remain?”

“Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.”

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.”

“However many holy words you read, however many you speak, what good will they do you If you do not act on upon them?”

“Even death is not to be feared by one who has lived wisely.”

“Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.”

“In the sky, there is no distinction of east and west; people create distinctions out of their own minds and then believe them to be true.”

“If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly, our whole life would change.”

“The only real failure in life is not to be true to the best one knows.”




No comments:

Post a Comment